The Power of Helplessness

On March 3, 2012, Cleveland, TN was shook with yet again, more tornados. I couldn’t believe what I was hearing. My first thought was “Why, God, why?” I remember walking into the post office that afternoon and getting a text message from my fiance saying, “Tornado is about to hit. Pray.” I was speechless at that time. There was nothing in my power that I could do to stop or protect my family and friends in Cleveland that evening. I was reminded of a Scripture at that time, one of the most powerful, but heart breaking verses ever written: 

“And at the ninth hour Jesus cried with a loud voice, “Eloi, Eloi, lema sabachthani?” which means, “My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?” – Mark 15:34

Think about it… Jesus is being hung on an instrument of death. A cross that would one day be the symbol for hope. Jesus could of called down a multitude of angels to come take Him off the cross, but He didn’t. In the old days, some were left to hang on the cross by rope, and left to starve or thirst to death, but then some were hung on the cross by actual nails. Jesus took the worst crucifixion known to man. I think it’s amazing to see that picture, even though it is very horrifying. The reason why the Roman soldiers and even Judas himself did what they did, was because they knew of His power. One could say jealousy was in their hearts, but today, you don’t see the government, or non-believers cursing the name of Allah, or Buddah, or Muhammad. You don’t see the government asking to take the names of idols off of buildings. The world knows. Oh man, does the world know of Jesus’ power and what He can do. The reason why the world hates Jesus is because they know at the name of Jesus every knee will bow and every tongue will confess that He is Lord! The helplessness that Jesus felt at that time. Wow. And I mean, my feelings of being helpless don’t even compare to the feelings Jesus had that day on Calvary. I was seven hours away from my family and friends, and they were being hit by an F-2 tornado. Big enough to destroy anything it touches, but as I began to make call after call after call, I felt a tug on my heart telling me to pray and let go. As I did, I heard on the radio that the tornado was on the west side of Cleveland, heading east towards my hometown. What that basically means is that it went all the way around in a circle around my family and friends. God does listen to prayers. I praise God for what He has done and what He continues to do. There is a video of a woman praying in Kentucky over the tornado, that is literally about the land right on her house. You can actually see the funnel of the tornado coming down towards her house, but the woman began to pray and reach her hand toward the sky and say, “Take this from us, God!” The power of a righteous man can move mountains. 

At this point, I began to see what God was trying to show me. He was showing me to simply let go of the authority in my life, as well as my family and friends, and let Him have it, because He has loved them a lot longer than I have…and He has loved them a lot more than I ever have. Whatever it is you are holding onto that you are trying to fix, do yourself a favor and let go and let God. God knows exactly what He is doing. Don’t believe me? Just ask Him. 

Leave a Reply

