Battlefield of the Mind

Did you know that the human mind is the most unique, but complicated thing God has ever made? Scientists still cannot figure out the mind. It’s amazing. Even though, it’s one of the hardest things to control, the human mind is one of God’s greatest creations. Why? Because only He knows it completely. Some scientists believe that there is nothing on this world to prove that God is real, but other scientists believe that there is so much information out there about God in creation, in humans, and in animals. 

I can tell you with all honesty, these past few days, I have just given up. Not spiritually, physically, or emotionally, but it feels like the enemy has been hitting me harder than ever before these last couple of days. I am reminded of Jesus and His crucifixion. When He was beaten to the point where He had no strength, He stood back up. He kept going. He didn’t stop half way through the process and say, “okay, can I please get some water and take a nap or something?” No. It was complete torture 24 hours a day, 7 days a weeks, for His whole life. So, I am thankful to have my hero, my Savior stand up against this world and give me an example to live by. 

Ever since being in the ministry, I believe that I have watched what I do more than I ever have. How many of you can say the same thing? Has the enemy tried to say to you, “well, you’re not as perfect as you thought you were, so just give up.”This is something I’ve struggled with for a long time in my life…even before the ministry. I always thought I had to be perfect. I always thought I had to act like a robot to please God. Now, what I am about to say is in way criticizing what I’ve been taught or those around me trying to help me, but what I am simply doing is trying to prove my statement biblically. Has someone ever told you, “I really think you need to watch what you do, because you don’t want people to think bad of you.” Keyword being think. I believe if you are more worried about what people might see and think instead of worried about what people KNOW, then I believe there is something going on with you that you need to address and settle with God. I recently just finished Craig Groeschel’s latest book “Soul Detox”. One of the greatest books I’ve ever read, I highly recommend it to all. In one of his chapters, he talks about him and his wife, Amy, being so worried about what people thought, so whenever they had people come visit or come over to eat, then they would throw their trash in the closet or do some temporary cleaning really, really, fast. And I mean, cleaning a house within 54 minutes. That’s nearly impossible. He admitted in the book that he and his wife were so spiritually insecure, that they worried more about what people thought instead of what God thought of them. I was told one day, by someone not in our church, “you need to not go to the altar’s during church service. You don’t want people to think you have something wrong with you.” WHAT?! Are you kidding me?! I mean, that just makes me laugh. I understand where they are coming from. I understand that, as a pastor, during church times, you are there to serve the people and pray for and with them, but as a pastor, you have to be open to people 24/7. There is no rest in helping people. I’m just going to be honest for a minute. I do care a lot about what people think, but if I need to go to the altars, because God is dealing with me a lot about someone or something, then I’m going to go. I have my quiet times with God where I get on my knees and pray, but someone, especially a pastor should never be afraid of going to the altar in front of people. We need to watch what we do, even if we’re not on staff at a church, we need to watch what we do as Christians, because you never know who is watching you. We need to watch how we react to things, what we say, how we act, what we watch, what we listen to, how we communicate with others, etc. God calls us to be open and willing, not closed and shut out of the world. Be yourself. Protect yourself. We have a Savior that is willing and able to help you…with anything…and everything. 

“Whatever you do, work at it with all of your heart, as working for the Lord, not for man.” -Colossians 3:23

Leave a Reply

