Picking Up The Trash

Have you ever had a time where you had a clean up a huge mess? Even if you didn’t do it…or if you did…have you? 

Monday of last week, I did my original routine. I woke up…got ready for work…made my coffee…and read my Bible. Well, you know how every Monday is. Something always has to go wrong. I mean, it was awful. Where I store my coffee stuff is at the very top of our cabinet and the day before, I had thrown it in the very back. Didn’t want to get a chair to get it, so what did I do? I jumped to grab it. When I went to grab it, I grabbed the top of the coffee grinds, and they spilt everywhere…and when I say everywhere, I mean EVERYWHERE. All in the cabinet, all over the floor, all over the top of my refrigerator…and still until about a few days ago, I was finding them in my freezer. Are you kidding me? It was that bad. I think about it now and just laugh and think if I would of been smart to get a chair, none of this would of happened. 

I want us to go back to Genesis and think about the very first sin. The very first sin wasn’t disobedience to God. It was idolatry. Wait, what? You might be thinking, “no way!” Think about it… Adam and Eve were told not to eat the fruit of a certain tree that God said not to, but the serpent came and said, “Eat, and you will be like God and know good and evil! (paraphrased)” God could of wiped out the entire Earth and decided to be done with it all…or even try and start over again, but God chose to face the fact that Adam and Eve sinned and do something about it.

Then, we go all the way to Genesis 17 where God calls Abram “Abraham.” By the grace of God, Abraham was chosen to become a great nation. Through Abraham, nations would become blessed. God tells Abraham to sacrifice his one, and only son, but look and see what Abraham says in Genesis 22:5…”Stay here with the donkey while I and the boy go over there. We will worship and then we will come back to you.” Wait a second! Abraham just said we will worship and then we will come back…not I will come back. Abraham had confidence that God would provide the sacrifice even before the sacrifice started! Then, Abraham, without questioning God, obeys God and goes to sacrifice Isaac. In the moment Abraham was about to strike his son, God says, “STOP! I now know you fear the Lord.” I believe what God was saying there was, “Abraham, I see your faithfulness and obedience to Me now. Don’t touch your ONLY son! I will be the One to sacrifice My ONLY Son!” How beautiful God’s grace is to us!

So, how did God clean up the mess? He chose one man. He picked one place to begin and started. Are you having a problem in your life, in your family, in your marriage today that needs God to intervene? Don’t try and do everything all at once. Pick a place and start. God cleaned up a mess that we could never clean up by killing His own Son to die for the mistakes we made. God chose a place and began. He chose Abraham and began to bless nations….”I will surely bless you and make your descendants as numerous as the stars in the sky and as the sand on the seashore. Your descendants will take possession of the cities of their enemies, and through your offspring all nations on earth will be blessed, because you have obeyed me.” 

Pick a place to clean up a mess and begin. 

Leave a Reply

