Shown to Trust

Image

“To you, O LORD, I lift up my soul; in You I trust, O my God. Do not let me be put to shame, nor let my enemies triumph over me. No one whose hope is in you will ever be put to shame, but they will be put to shame who are treacherous without excuse.”Psalm 25:1-3

Who do you trust when things in your life are going all wrong? What do you do whenever life…ministry…family…friends…are all gone? What will you do? The Prophet Habakkuk says, “Though the fig tree does not bud and there are no grapes on the vines,though the olive crop fails and the fields produce no food, though there are no sheep in the pen and no cattle in the stalls, yet I will rejoice in the Lord, I will be joyful in God my Savior” (Habakkuk 3:17-18). 

Let me rephrase my question to you. What will you do when you have nothing? We can look at Job’s life, starting in chapter one. His life was great. He had the money…family…livestock…food to last him a lifetime. He was a rich man, yet, God chose to allow Satan to test him. If you look, after Satan took away Job’s money, livestock, and even his very children, Scripture is clear to say that, “After all of this, Job did not sin against God.” WOW! I can’t say that I would be that person, because I wouldn’t be. I’m just being honest. Some people walk around as if they don’t care what they have, but most ministers I know would absolutely die if they lost their iPhone. I mean, come on now. It’s just a phone. 

I want to tell a story of a time when I could do absolutely nothing in my control, to help. 

It was last summer (2011), and my step-father is very successful business man. Owns his own excavating company…employees that respect him…has prayer every morning before with his employees set out for the day to work. One morning, I walk in thinking that it’s just like every other day. Get to the shop at 7:00 am…prayer at 7:15 am…leave for job site at 7:30 am…get to Maryville job site at 8:30 am…leave work around 6:00 pm to go home. Well, when I walk in, my step dad has a new job for me that day. I get to drive a huge mechanical truck to Maryville. I mean, I am loving life right now. I love driving, but getting to drive a big, huge, manly mechanical truck was a HUGE thing to me. I had to load the truck up with a pallet of sand, mortar, bricks, shovels, etc., to take to the job site in Maryville, but first, I had to take a couple of the employees to their job site. No problem at all. I get to the job site in Lenior City to drop the guys off and I begin my journey down the road. I get on highway 411 to head to Maryville. Well, a couple of miles down the road, the entire truck shakes and I hear a huge pop. I’m thinking something has blown up, or the engine is about to blow this truck to pieces, so I pull off on the side of the road and look at the back tires and see one of the tires completely blown. I’m mad, because I have to sit in the 99 degree heat in a truck with no A/C, on the side of the road. I call my step-father to ask him to send a mechanic, and he asks me how far away I am from the job site. I said, “maybe 12 miles.” And the next words he would say to me, would be the greatest advice he’s ever said to me. He simply says, “go.” Wait….go?! He’s not serious, is he? I mean, I have a blown tire. In a huge truck. With five other good tires ready to go. It was a dully type of truck. He tells me it will be okay to drive, I just have to go 35 mph the entire way. Okay, 12 miles away from the job going 35 mph. Haha that’s funny. I remember saying “okay” to him and started driving. I remember thinking to myself that this is stupid and almost trying to pull off the road to change the tire myself. Then, I remember the Holy Spirit speaking to me in my heart and simply said, “Just trust him.” I drove as carefully as I could, and finally pulled onto the job site around lunch time.

My trust in my step-father in that time was initiated by something bad that happened. Get the picture? I was in a place where I had zero head knowledge of how to fix this situation. My trust in that moment in my step-father grew tremendously. All because something went wrong and he KNEW what was best. Isn’t that the same thing in our walk with God? We have no idea what to do in life, but yet, God is trying to tell us what to do. My disbelief in my step-father, and even myself, did not effect the love he had for me in that moment. What you do or do not do, does not determine God’s love for you. We cannot control the love of God. In that moment, my step-father knew what he was talking about. All I had to do was trust. 

Remember today that God is trying to show you that He can be trusted. Trust Him today with anything and everything you are going through. It will be the best decision you’ve ever made. 

Leave a Reply

