The Needed Gospel for Today

“But we did not yield in submission to these people for even one hour, so that the truth of the Gospel would remain for you.” –Galatians 2:5

As many of you know, the owner of Chic-Fil-A decided to state his and his families opinion on the current acts of homosexuality that a marriage is biblically correct when it’s between “one woman, one man, and one God.” I have been pondering on the Gospel and Jesus and the current issues of today’s society, and my only question is, “when did God say it was okay to change the Gospel to what we want it to say?” As you read this, I want you to understand my heart and reason behind this. God is for everyone. God loves everyone, but hates the sin that we commit. When we sin, God doesn’t hate us…He hates what we are doing. He loves the sinner, hates the sin. 

In our world today, there are people desperate for the Gospel. They won’t admit it, or say it, but they are wanting the Gospel, because deep down inside, they feel miserable. I felt miserable whenever I was living of the world. I put God in a box and put Him on the shelf at home, and got Him out whenever I needed Him. That was my relationship God for the longest time growing up. I struggled with that. I am telling you this, because I want you to understand that just because I’m a pastor, doesn’t make me perfect. I have met so many pastors in my time that said, “you can’t pray at the altars during service, because you don’t want people to see you’re hurt” or I’ve heard, “keep everything to yourself – don’t share anything from your past.” I want my relationship with my student, leaders, and the people around me to be based off of one thing: honesty. If people don’t know that I am human, then your relationships with people will fail. You are human. You will make mistakes. We were created making mistakes, but it is by the grace of God that I am who I am now. 

Galatians 2:5 strikes me as a verse that I think we, as believers, should know, memorize, and understand. What Paul is saying is, “I did not slow down. I never stopped telling the Gospel of Jesus Christ. For I saw what it did to me, and I want people to experience the same love and grace that I did.” Wherever you are, and whatever you are doing, DO NOT STOP TELLING THE TRUTH OF THE GOSPEL! I believe the reason the world is the way it is, is because men and women of the Gospel have backed down into a corner, afraid, and are now hiding in offices, behind desks, and sitting on Facebook. Listen to me, God did not call us to spread the Gospel according to our needs and wants. He told us to deny ourselves, pick up our cross daily, and follow Him. With doing that, is a cost. Sometimes it’s our job. Sometimes it’s our money. Sometimes it’s our desires and wants…and maybe sometimes…it’s our very lives. Stephen in Acts was stoned because of the Gospel. Paul was put in prison because of the Gospel. Do you think these people wanted to end up where they did half the time? Absolutely not! The Gospel is needed more today than it ever has been. I say that as carefully as possible, because the Gospel is and always has been needed. It is time as men and women of God, to not slow down, not to give up, to persevere, and to spread the Gospel that is so needed today in our day and age. If God is for you, who can be against? Paul put it simply like this, “To live is Christ, and to die is gain” (Phil. 1:21). 

So, I ask you. Are you ready to be a Paul, a Peter, a Joshua, a Moses, Jesus? It’s time for us to stop writing out the Gospel for what we want it to say, and start believing what it truly says. God has spoken through His Word. Will you respond? Will you keep going when time is hard? Will you become numb to the Gospel to where you stop spreading the Good News or will you become the great ambassador and open vessel for Christ that you were destined to become?

People need to hear the Gospel and we need to tell them about it. Let’s go together.

 

Leave a Reply

